The District is divided into 6 Sub Divisons for administrative convenience. A Sub division is headed by  Sub Divisional Magistrate or SDM.  The Sub divisional Offices are a replica of Collectorate in the matter of number of sections and they act as intermediary in the administrative setup.

There are Six tahsils in District Uttarkashi :-

  1.  Bhatwadi
  2.  Dunda
  3.  Chinyalisaud
  4.  Badkot
  5. Purola
  6.  Mori

Two uptahsils :-

Joshiyara(Bhatwadi Tahsil)  AND  Dhauntri(Dunda Tahsil)